Committees

The Board of Directors feels all members have the right to, and should, participate and counsel the Association. Every task or project taken on by the NMLA will be the responsibility of these established committees. Each committee will have a chairperson who is responsible for the committee's leadership and all NMLA members are encouraged to volunteer for consideration. The committees and their respective duties are listed below (*).

If you are interested in serving on a committee, please contact Michael Bryant at mbryant@tridentfunding.com.

 

ANNUAL REPORT

  • Reviews/updates annual lender questionnaire
  • Works closely with independent 3rd party vendor by providing member list, questionnaire, follow-up with members for participation
  • Creates finished report with commentary and graphics, and distributes to participating members

 

Committee Chairman:    
Jim Coburn jcoburn@coburnassociates.com (586) 530-3935
Committee Members:    
Melanie Jolles
Ken Jones
Don Parkhurst
mjolles@newcoast.com
jonesken9@aol.com
don.parkhurst@suntrust.com
(954) 299-6640
(810) 252-5857
(703) 691-4411

 

CONFERENCE

  • Develop and produce Annual Member Conference

 

Committee Chairwomen:    
Peggy Bodenreider
Jackie Forese
yachtmoney4u@gmail.com
forese2@msn.com
(714) 473-8523
(516) 810-3796
Committee Members:    
Jim Coburn
Robin Cottmeyer
John Haymond
Bill Otto
Dennis Poer
Greg Proteau
Karen Trostle
jcoburn@coburnassociates.com
info@marinelenders.org
jhaymond@medallion.com
billotto3@gmail.com

dpoer@bankozarks.com
gproteau@msn.com
karen@sterlingacceptance.com
(586) 530-3935
(410) 980-1401
(801) 747-7176
(616) 538-5777
(678) 293-1238
(847) 736-4142
(410) 268-1545

 

EDUCATION

  • Training and development for members and marine industry associates
  • Develop and produce Annual Marine Lending Workshop

 

Committee Chairwoman:
Jackie Forese forese2@msn.com (516) 810-3796
Committee Members:    
Jim Coburn
Robin Cottmeyer
Don Parkhurst
Mike Smith
Karen Trostle
jcoburn@coburnassociates.com
info@marinelenders.org
don.parkhurst@suntrust.com
boatman21@outlook.com

karen@sterlingacceptance.com
(586) 530-3935
(410) 980-1401
(703) 691-4411
(231) 409-3521
(410) 268-1545

 

FINANCE

  • Budget creation and strategic planning
  • Annual member invoicing
  • Create and deliver Treasurer's Reports to the Board of Directors and NMLA Members
  • CPA and bookkeeper relationships

 

Committee Chairman:    
Bill Otto billotto3@gmail.com (616) 538-5777
Committee Members:    

Bob Dunford, Jr.
Jackie Forese
Don Parkhurst
Karen Trostle

rpdunford@tridentfunding.com
forese2@msn.com
don.parkhurst@suntrust.com
karen@sterlingacceptance.com

(203) 944-6555
(516) 810-3796
(703) 691-4411
(410) 268-1545

 

LEGISLATIVE

  • Represent NMLA on all legislative and appropriate legal issues
  • Review of NMLA by-laws
  • Develop and establish relationships with industry associations and like committees

 

Committee Chairman:    
Don Parkhurst don.parkhurst@suntrust.com (703) 691-4411
Committee Members:    
James Barron
Mark Breeden
Jim Coburn
Geoffrey Kreller
Jim Stewart
Karen Trostle
jbarron@essexcredit.com
mbreeden@mtb.com
jcoburn@coburnassociates.com
Geoff.kreller@yahoo.com
jstewart@kotzsangster.com
karen@sterlingacceptance.com
(925) 843-3100
(716) 848-3972
(586) 530-3935
(443) 847-6677
(313) 259-8751
(410) 268-1545

 

MARKETING

  • Develops all NMLA marketing materials including newsletters, press releases, quarterly trend surveys, brochures, promotional items and loan awareness campaigns
  • Maintains NMLA FaceBook and Twitter accounts
  • Monitors the NMLA website and makes suggestions for updates

 

Committee Chairwoman:    
Karen Trostle karen@sterlingacceptance.com (410) 268-1545
Committee Members:    
Peggy Bodenreider
Jim Coburn
Robin Cottmeyer
Bob Dunford, Jr.
Greg Proteau
yachtmoney4u@gmail.com
jcoburn@coburnassociates.com
info@marinelenders.org
rpdunford@tridentfunding.com
gproteau@msn.com
(714) 473-8523
(586) 530-3935
(410) 980-1401
(203) 944-6555
(847) 736-4142

 

MEMBERSHIP

  • Membership recruitment
  • Create/implement new member approval procedure
  • Periodic by-law review w/board and council

 

Committee Chairwoman:    

Nikki Bates

nbates@boatloan.com (772) 464-5885
Committee Members:    
Jim Coburn
John Haymond
Melanie Jolles
Dennis Poer
jcoburn@coburnassociates.com
jhaymond@medallion.com
mjolles@newcoast.com
dpoer@bankozarks.com
(586) 530-3935
(801) 747-7176
(954) 299-6640
(678) 293-1238

 

NOMINATING

This committee is comprised of the President, the Immediate Past President and NMLA counsel
Responsible for the nomination of Officers annually

 

Committee Members:    
Michael Bryant
Karen Trostle
James Stewart
mbryant@tridentfunding.com
karen@sterlingacceptance.com
jstewart@kotzsangster.com
(949) 475--0760
(410) 980-1401
(313) 259-8751

 

SPONSORSHIP

  • Develop varying levels of sponsorship and define member benefit offerings for each
  • Tele-market program to members and non-members

 

Committee Chairman:    

Michael Bryant

mbryant@tridentfunding.com (949) 475--0760
Committee Members:    
Nikki Bates
Robin Cottmeyer
John Haymond
Dennis Poer
Karen Trostle
nbates@boatloan.com
info@marinelenders.org
jhaymond@medallion.com
dpoer@bankozarks.com
karen@sterlingacceptance.com
(772) 464-5885
(410) 980-1401
(801) 747-7176
(678) 293-1238
(410) 268-1545

 

(*) President Michael Bryant participates in all NMLA Committees